Close to Home, Cara Hunter: Book Review

Looking for your next thriller to read? Close to Home by Cara Hunter is the book for you.

This is the first book in the DI Adam Fawley series, and I’ve read the second and it’s just as good. Get ready for your next obsession…

The plot:

How can a child vanish without a trace?

Last night, eight-year-old Daily Mason disappeared from a family party. No one in the quiet suburban street saw anything – or at least that’s what they’re saying.

DI Adam Fawley is trying to keep an open mind. But he knows that nine times out of ten, it’s someone the victim knew.

That means someone is lying. And Daisy’s time is running out.

Hunter really has shocked me with how clever this is

There are so many twists and turns in this book, I just loved every page. From social media posts (which I loooooved the concept of, because participatory journalism is on the rise), to news cuttings and interview scripts, you are really dragged into this book in every aspect. It felt like you were a fly on the wall, and was pulled together beautifully.

It’s written very well, and makes for a very quick read. One for a holiday, or if you want to stay up all night reading.

I just didn’t even expect the ending, and that’s coming from someone who finds thrillers very predictable. The epilogue is just crazy good, and Hunter really has shocked me with how clever this is.

During this book, you don’t really get a feel for DI Adam Fawley, but the last page made me buy In the Dark, the second book in the series. Heck, I loved the book enough to just sell my soul to Hunter and buy all the books in the future.

Bookmark That approved. For fans of Clare Mackintosh, C. L. Taylor and M.J. Arlidge.

Close to Home, Cara Hunter, RRP £7.99 (paperback); Book Depository 

Pages: 376

Publisher: Penguin

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Book two, In The Dark, is out now (which I have read and LOVED). Book three, No Way Out, is available for pre-order.

Join the mailing list -  


© BookmarkThat - Website by Easel Media