Forget Me Not, Claire Allan: Book Review

Ready for a solid thriller to get stuck into? Check out Forget Me Not by Claire Allen.

The plot:

It’s six in the morning during the hottest summer on record when Elizabeth, out walking her dog, comes across Clare, a victim of a horrific knife attack, clinging onto life at the side of the road.

Clare dies minutes later, but not before whispering her haunting last words to Elizabeth.

It soon becomes clear that Clare’s killer has more than one murder on his mind, and that other women, even Elizabeth herself, are in grave danger.

What if she can’t stop a killer determined never to be forgotten?

The concept was fantastic

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I’m preeeettyyy good at detecting what’s going to happen with these types of books but Forget Me Not is rather unpredictable as the author tries to manipulate you, which I AM HERE FOR. One aspect is predictable, from my point of view, but in a sense, totally not. You’ll never guess it, and that’s what makes this book a very good thriller.

It does have your stereotypical thriller content which we all know and love, but also had that element of surprise and a few paragraphs which were a lot more violent than anticipated.

The concept was fantastic, and actually makes you question whether this could happen in real life (I seriously hope not for anyone). It’s very modern and flows seamlessly with lots of conversation to make for a quick read.

Chapters are split between two characters, and their voices are distinctive enough. Although not usually a fan, I was interested to see why Allen had done it the way she had and then later impressed with the idea behind it.

I did have one small issue with Forget Me Not, and that’s because you just didn’t get enough closure of one of the characters who features a lot during the first half of the book. You get a short paragraph near the end, but that just didn’t seem like enough for me.

I have two other books by Allan, and if this is the quality of work she produces, I’m absolutely gutted I haven’t read them yet, but they’ve been bumped up my list big time.

For fans of C. L. Taylor and J. P. Carter.

Forget Me Not, Claire Allen, RRP £7.99 (paperback); Book Depository 

Pages: 336

Publisher: Avon Books

Genre: Thriller

Join the mailing list -  


© BookmarkThat - Website by Easel Media